Ranking Every NBA Championship Team of the 21st Century


ChampionsSource24Posterizes2560x1440 (1)

I thought it would be fun to take a look at the past decade and a half of NBA champions and rank them from worst to best. Obviously, all these teams were great in their own way but a couple squads really popped out to me and can be considered all-time great teams. First, here is the list of champions from 2000-2015, then I will rank them in the countdown… Enjoy!

2000 – Los Angeles Lakers

2001 – Los Angeles Lakers

2002 – Los Angeles Lakers

2003 – San Antonio Spurs

2004 – Detroit Pistons

2005 – San Antonio Spurs

2006 – Miami Heat

2007 – San Antonio Spurs

2008 – Boston Celtics

2009 – Los Angeles Lakers

2010 – Los Angeles Lakers

2011 – Dallas Mavericks

2012 – Miami Heat

2013 – Miami Heat

2014 – San Antonio Spurs

2015 – Golden State Warriors

2016 – Cleveland Cavaliers

Enjoy the countdown!

20 Jun 2006, DALLAS, TX, USA --- The Miami Heat celebrate during the second half of Game 6 of the NBA Finals between the Dallas Mavericks and Miami Heat at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas on Tuesday, June 21, 2006. Miami won 95-92 to win the NBA Championship 4-2. --- Image by © Brad Loper/Dallas Morning News/Corbis

17. Miami Heat – 2006

Regular Season Record: 52-30

Postseason Record: 16-7

NBA Finals: Beat Dallas 4-2

Coach: Pat Riley

Starting Lineup:

PG: Jason Williams

SG: Dwyane Wade

SF: Antoine Walker

PF: Udonis Haslem

C: Shaquille O’Neal


Alonzo Mourning, Gary Payton, James Posey, Derek Anderson

Many argue this years winner won because of many questionable fouls against the Dallas Mavericks, especially Mark Cuban, but you can’t take away an entire season because of some missed calls. After finishing first in the Southeast Division and second in the Eastern Conference, D-Wade and Shaquille O’Neal were ready to lead their team to an NBA Finals.

In the first round of the playoffs, the Heat faced off against a team that relied on the scoring of Ben Gordon and Andres Nocioni to win their games – so you know the Heat had confidence going in. Despite two seperate 35 point games from Gordon and Nocioni, the Bulls simply couldn’t compete with the much deeper and top heavy Miami squad and the Heat won this one is six.

The second round was against the aging big three of Richard Jefferson, Jason Kidd and Vince Carter who never really had a chance as Miami won in 5 games.

The Eastern Conference Finals was a showdown against the mighty Detroit Pistons and the Heat finally had someone to be nervous about as they lost to them the previous year. The series went to six but D-Wade was just too good and Detroit ended their consecutive Finals appearances at two. 

Finally, the Finals were upon us and just like that, the Dallas Mavericks were leading the Miami Heat 2 games to none. But D-Wade decided to channel his inner Michael Jordan and posted 4 straight games of 42, 36, 43 and 36 points which ultimately stunned the NBA world. Shaq got his 4th ring, while veterans such as Gary Payton, Alonzo Mourning, Antoine Walker and Jason Williams all were blessed with their first title.